A Raisin in the Sun

A Raisin in the Sun

by Lorraine Hansberry, directed by Nambi E. Kelley

September 27–October 21, 2018

Dusty Loo Bon Vivant Theater

The performance runs approximately 2 hours and 45 minutes, including one 15-minute intermission.

Lorraine Hansberry’s revelatory masterpiece canonized her place in the civil rights movement and electrified generations of activists and artists alike. In a small tenement on Chicago’s South Side, a family awaits a check that will make all their dreams come true. Mama wants a nice house, Beneatha wants to go to medical school, and Walter Lee schemes to buy a liquor store. With gentrification happening in neighborhoods all around us, Raisin is as powerful, thought-provoking, and timely as it was in 1959.


  • Caren BlackmoreRuth Younger
  • Rashid KamaraTravis Younger
  • Calvin ThompsonWalter Lee Younger
  • Al-nisa PettyBeneatha Younger
  • Lynne HastingsLena Younger
  • Kai A. EalyJoseph Asagai
  • Christopher W. JonesGeorge Murchison/Moving Man
  • Rakeem LawrenceBobo
  • Tom ParadiseKarl Lindner

Artistic Team

  • Nambi E. KellyDirector
  • Lawrence E. Moten IIIScenic Designer
  • Kathy A. PerkinsLighting Designer
  • Naila Aladdin SandersCostume Designer
  • David SambaSound Designer
  • Steve BaglioProperties Manager
  • Dallo GoudiabyChoreographer
  • Kristen WickersheimStage Manager
  • Kala RoquemoreAssistant Stage Manager
  • Gabriella CavalleroDialect Coach
  • Emerson OlsonDramaturg
  • Pheobe BoyntonHair & Makeup
  • Rakeem LawrenceFight Choreographer & Captain
  • Kai A. EalyIntimacy Captain

Thank you to our generous sponsors:

  • Logo for All Colorado Beer Festival
  • Logo for Colorado Creative Industries
  • Logo for National Endowment for the Arts
  • Logo for El Pomar Foundation
  • Logo for The Gazette
  • Logo for Joseph Henry Edmondson Foundation
  • Logo for Judy and Craig Carnick
  • Logo for The Shubert Foundation
  • Bob Johnson Memorial Fund
  • Kathy Loo & Jim Raughton
  • Ed & Mary Osborne
  • Joyce R. Carlson
  • The Kraemer Family Endowment at the Kraemer Family Library