Inside Theatreworks

From volunteer opportunities to auditions and internships, there are plenty of ways to be a part of our theatre company. Join us as an usher, and you won’t miss a moment of the show. Intern to gain real-world experience with a nonprofit, regional theatre. Step inside Theatreworks to meet artists, actors, and arts management professionals from Colorado and beyond.

Theatreworks hires both equity and non-equity actors, local and out-of-town, depending on the role.

Current auditions

View our production archive.

View Archive

View our photo archive

View Photo Archive


Caitlin Lowans

Artistic Director, Theatreworks
(719) 255-3959

Dan Porten

Technical Director, Theatreworks

Elena Hansen

(719) 255-3232

Jillian Taylor

Theatreworks Producer
(719) 255-3232

Pheobe Boynton

Costume Shop Manager
(719) 255-3813

About Theatreworks

Theatreworks was originally founded in 1975 as an outreach program of the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs. Through the decades, the company has grown into the region’s premier professional theatre company, remaining on-campus in central Colorado Springs.

2003 saw the opening of the Dusty Loo Bon Vivant Theater, Theatreworks' primary performance space. The space typically seats up to 200, with seating rarely configured the same way twice. Theatreworks usually produces 7 shows per season, ranging from classics to experimental. The company prides itself on taking risks and stretching boundaries, striving to keep audiences engaged and excited.

Theatreworks was founded by Murray Ross (1942–2017), his wife Betty, and a small group of fellow theatre-lovers. He served as the artistic director of the organization for over 40 years and taught thousands of students in the University's theatre program, which he also founded. Read Murray's blog here.

Theatreworks Advisory Board Members
Alfred Buettner, Chair
Jeff Flygare
Hal Goldback
Kathleen Harrington
Sally Hybl
Elizabeth A. Jefferson
Olivia Langley
Becky Medved
Gina Perenchio
Salvador Placensia
David Schwartz
Todd Whitford

Emeritus Board Members
Kathleen Fox Collins
Sara Ware Howsam
Carol Montgomery
Ed Osborne
Jim Ringe
Betty Ross
Nancy Shanley

Kevin Landis - Director, UCCS Theatre Program
Salvador Placensia - Senator of the Arts, Student Government Association
Robert C. Welshon - Interim Dean, College of Letters, Arts and Sciences at UCCS